can i be content in 2012?…

Check out these surprising statistics just released in a poll by the Opinion Corporation of Princeton, New Jersey:

  • 62% of people make New Years resolutions
  • 8% are successful
  • 19% achieve resolutions every other year
 on average
  • 49% have infrequent success
  • 24% NEVER succeed and have failed on EVERY resolution EVERY year!

(That’s 1 in 4 people who fail each and every time they make a resolution!)

Disturbing statistics, don’t you think?  Yeah, me too…..so maybe I should NOT have a resolution…(or did I just make a resolution not to have a resolution?  I’m dizzy…)

Here are the top 8 New Year’s resolutions people make:

  1. Lose weight
  2. Beat alcohol
 or addiction
  3. Exercise more and get fit
  4. Quit smoking or chewing tobacco
  5. Be a better spouse
  6. Be a better parent
  7. Eat healthier
  8. Save money

Maybe we should learn how to be content, which means understanding at any given moment I have what I need.  Philippians 4:10-13, is the greatest statement in the New Testament on contentment.

Philippians 4:10-13, “I’m glad in God, far happier than you would ever guess–happy that you’re again showing such strong concern for me.  Not that you ever quit praying and thinking about me.  You just had no chance to show it.  Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally.  I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances.  I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little.  I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty.  Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.”  (the Message)

The writer, Paul, shows us that riches are not the way to contentment and in that way, he learned to hold material things in an open hand.  He could also walk away from prosperity when his service to the Lord demanded it.

Contentment is possible when you realize that everything happens for a purpose — whether you see it or not.    Paul managed to live his life above his circumstances.  For him, his contentment wasn’t a ‘stiff upper lip’ or ‘a positive attitude’….no, his contentment was based on relying solely on Jesus Christ.  That takes more than positive thinking.  You’ve got to have Jesus on the inside.

So as believers are we better people?  Nope.  Does that mean that believers don’t suffer?  Nope.  It means that we have the power of Christ living in us giving us strength.  This is the strength that I, myself, relied on while taking care of a severely handicapped child for 15 1/2 years.  I wasn’t doing it on my own……I owe my strength to God HE was my source of strength.

Is it enough?  Can His power meet the problems in your life?  YES!  The beauty is that if your are not a content person, if you have not experienced that supernatural power of Christ in your life, you can — simply by learning to lean on the Lord.

God has given us everything we need for this new year.  So we can be content about the future………I think that can be my new years resolution……..”learning to be content in all things..”

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, family, God speaking, life

One response to “can i be content in 2012?…

  1. Great post to start the new year!! I hate resolutions. Pressing on & growing in godliness is my plan for the new year, and being content is a giant step forward!

    Like

Leave a Reply

