don’t ya just love love?

There are four words in the Greek language for love…

1.  Eros:  sexual love

2.  Storge: friendship love

3.  Philos: family love

4.  Agape:  self-sacrificing love

Most of us, if you have ever attended a wedding, have heard of 1 Corinthians 13, called the love chapter.  We’ve heard it read aloud and even put to music.  It is one of the most famous and most beloved chapters in all of the Bible.  But have you heard it so often that maybe it’s  lost it’s meaning?  Well, just in case…let’s check it out.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 “Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails. “

Our society today confuses the word love with sex.  And there are many people that have not experienced true love  and are even afraid of it!  That’s okay if some are incapable of showing love because genuine agape love doesn’t expect love in return, so love them anyhow!!

Love starts and stops with God.  He is the author of love.  He created it out of His very nature, and He desires that we share it and experience it with others.  AND….we are most like God…when we love.

Think about how God has expressed His love toward us by providing heaven!  We had absolutely nothing to do with it, yet He is preparing a place for us and we can only get there by the grace of God.  PTL, my peeps!!

There’s nothing you can do to get Him to love you and there’s nothing you can do to make Him stop. ~ Charles Stanley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s