my confession…

If you’ve read anything at ALL that I’ve written…then you know what I think about prayer.  It is simple.  It is portable. It is refreshing.  It is what I love.

But…..things aren’t always as they seem.

I was convicted in my spirit today.  When I woke up, I didn’t have my prayer time.  Instead I went downstairs and got my coffee.

After I got my coffee, I didn’t have my prayer time.  Instead I crawled back in bed and watched the unfolding drama of Bin Laden on Fox News.

After I watched the news, I didn’t have my prayer time.  Instead I got up to take a quick shower and get ready for a funeral that I had to attend.

After the funeral, I didn’t have my prayer time.  Instead I hurried home to have lunch because I was starving.

Where was God?  Oh, He was waiting.  He was right there…during coffee, during the news, during the funeral and even during lunch.  That’s when the ton of bricks finally fell on my head.

I didn’t have my prayer time.

Yes, I finally went in my room….closed the door (although there is no one here) … turned off the music…and met with God.  And guess what?  He still loves me.

Sure, I pray throughout the day, choosing a brief sentence or just saying His name.  But I think He deserves more than that.  He deserves more of me.  Alone time….where I can listen.

My point is this…..He was waiting for me.  God didn’t cause some sort of calamity upon me because I missed my time with Him.  That’s not his gig.

I was selfish.  I thought of SOOO many things to do, yet they didn’t include Him.

This is my confession.  I must begin with God.  I exist only because God wills that I exist.

Psalm 39:4 “Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be.  Remind me that my days are numbered, and that my life is fleeing away.”


Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, God speaking, life

Leave a Reply

