it’s a God thing…

I have always loved the God moments.  Those are the moments when you are sure that God has placed a person in your path, or maybe it comes in the form of a healing or a blessing. They can take many forms, but it is an instance when you know without a doubt that the God of the Universe has revealed Himself…often when we least expect it.

This happened to me yesterday.  My good friend Glenda, henceforth known as G, and I decided to go into Old Town Scottsdale and have some lunch.  We always try to make time for each other every month, and sometimes its just the two of  us eating lunch at the food court on her break.  But yesterday was a good day to be outside with 76 degree weather.

After lunch we were strolling through the little shops and came upon a woman who owns one of the jewelry stores.  We spoke briefly and looked through all the earrings, bracelets and necklaces and I found a couple of pretty items to buy.  (Can you imagine that?  Me?  Shopping?)

Anywho…I don’t know how to spell her name, but it is pronounced, Noonshi.  As I’m paying the bill, Noonshi begins to tell us about the week prior, when she was robbed.  She told of three men that came into the store and while one man distracted her, the others took jewelry from the case.  She was devastated and her eyes began to water as she told us her story.

She began to say that it had made her faith fail and she couldn’t believe that this could happen because she prayed and thought God loved her.  That’s when it happened…. there it was ……THE GOD MOMENT.

I took her hand and told her that God DOES love her!  I quoted Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you, saith the Lord.  Plans to prosper you, not to harm you.  Plans to give you a hope and a future.”  G and I began to tell her of God’s love and peace.  We actually got to spend about 20 minutes with her and Glenda told her to get the book, God’s Promises for your Everyday Life.  She was so thankful and hugged us before we left.

Well, today I was looking through my books and came across the God’s Promises book.  G had given me this book back in 2005 and it was well worn.  I thought about Noonshi and decided to take the book to her and let her know that we were praying for her.

I drove to her jewelry store and took the books (I had a Women of Faith devotional book for her also) inside and I thought she was going to start crying again when she saw me come through the door!  I explained that I had received the book from Glenda and was now passing it on to her.  I told her that she could keep it or give it away, as I had given it to her.  Poor Noonshi!!  She was stunned!  She couldn’t believe that I would come back to the store and bless her this way.  She asked if she could give me something in return and I managed to tear my eyes away from the huge turquoise necklace, and tell her, “No!”  🙂

This was a gift from one christian to another and that’s when the tears and hugs started all over again.  What a wonderful day!  God had placed her in our path to just pick her up and remind her that He loved her!

I think it is our responsibility to be watching for these moments.  You never know when they will come and I want to “always be ready to give an answer to everyone who asks for a reason for the hope you have.” (1 Peter 3:15)

It was a such a beautiful day….in so many ways.  GOD IS GOOD!

“When I said ‘My foot is slipping,’ your love, O Lord, supported me. When anxiety was great within me, your love brought joy to my soul.” ~ Psalm 94:18-19


1 Comment

Filed under God speaking, life

One response to “it’s a God thing…

  1. What a great testimony! I love when God encourages us!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

