first you gotta get in the boat….

Have you ever been caught out on the sea during a storm?  Wind blowing and water splashing…….no one to rescue you and no way to help yourself?

Well, remember Mark 4:35-41?  (No?  Me either till I was reading and fell right into it)…

On the same day, when evening had come, He said to them, “Let us cross over to the other side.”  Now when they had left the multitude, they took Him along in the boat as He was.  And other little boats were also with Him.  And a great windstorm arose, and the waves beat into the boat, so that it was already filling.  But He was in the stern, asleep on a pillow.  And they awoke Him and said to Him, “Teacher, do You not care that we are perishing?”  Then He arose and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Peace, be still!”  And the wind ceased  and there was a great calm.  But He said to them, “Why are you so fearful?  How is it that you have no faith?”  And they feared exceedingly, and said to tone another, “Who can this be, that even the wind and the sea obey Him!”

When I read this, I think of my 2 year old granddaughter, Paloma, that has learned to say, hello, however, it comes out, “Heh-wo!”  I laughed to myself when I was reading this because I imagined the disciples being tossed around with their long hair flying and their long tunics drenched.  Then I imagine them looking down where Jesus lay and saying, “HEH-WO????? GETTING WET UP HERE!!!”

I won’t really know if this happened until we get to heaven.  And don’t think I won’t be looking for Peter to tell me how this all went down.

But back to the story….Jesus was tired and the crowds were getting bigger.  People were coming for hope, for healing and just to hear the Master speak.  And it was Jesus, himself, that said, “Let’s hop in the boat and scoot to the other side”  (my version).  I imagine the disciples were glad that they were going to the other side of the lake because there had been crowds of people everywhere they went!  Most of the disciples had made that journey to the other side of the lake before and they were ready for rest.

Suddenly a huge storm came up with the wind blowing and waves crashing all around the disciples!  The boat is actually filling with water and the disciples can’t bail fast enough!  You can imagine what they were thinking!!  Jesus is asleep during the middle of a storm!  “Teacher, don’t you care that we are perishing?”

How many times have I re-phrased THAT question?

“God, don’t you care that my son is dying?”

“God, don’t you care that my marriage is falling apart?”

“God, don’t you care that I don’t have any money?”

We’ve all asked Him different variations of that question.  And guess what?  HE DOES CARE.

The Bible says He arose and rebuked the wind and IMMEDIATELY the wind stopped.  (I’m going to ask Peter what he thought about that!) Even the wind and sea obey His Word.  AND, even better, notice that he rebuked the wind…..not the disciples.  And then He asked them why they didn’t have faith. I don’t think that He was belittling them.  They had faith, but they also had fear.

Our storms are going to come.  They always do…..BUT WE HAVE TO GET IN THE BOAT WITH JESUS AND RIDE OUT THE STORM WITH HIM.

Jesus told the disciples to get in the boat.  Did He know that there would be a storm? YEP! Did He warn them in advance of the storm? NOPE. They would have missed a lesson that they needed to learn.

Hmm…..what lesson is God teaching me?  I have had things/people taken from me before….some of the lessons I could immediately see……some I still don’t know why.  But I do know this, He has ALWAYS been in the boat with me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, life

Leave a Reply

