In yo’ face!!

You don’t have to tell how you live each day,
You don’t have to say if you work or play.
A tried, true barometer serves serves in the place,
However you live, it will show in your face.

The false, the deceit that you bear in your heart,
Will not stay inside where it first got the start;
For sinew and blood are thin veil of lace–
What you wear in your heart, you wear in your face.

If you have gambled and won in the great game of life,
If you feel you have conquered the sorrow and strife,
If you’ve played the game fair, and you stand on first base,
You don’t have to say so, it shows on your face.

If you’re life is unselfish, and for others you live,
For not what you get, but for how much you can give.
If you live in good will toward the whole human race,
You don’t have to tell it– it shows on your face. ~ author unknown

This was found in the first few pages of a cookbook that was given to my mother when I was in elementary school….back in 1968. (do you have any idea how hard that was to admit the year?????). It was compiled by the Baytown School Food Service Association. Our neighbor, Mrs. Edith Musick, ran the school cafeteria program for the entire district and her food was delicious!! She highlighted certain recipes and we still use them to this day.
While back in Texas, over the holidays, I found the cookbook and loudly cried “DIBS” which is a binding verbal contract, I’m just certain. I also said “DIBS” on some expensive crystal and silver pieces, so….it’s pretty much all mine.

I love “DIBS”. It’s so final. My sister will probably try to use this against me in a court of law, but I have proven myself to be not only charming, but a good crybaby also. The final verdict will be in my favor, and of this I am quite satisfied.

4 Comments

Filed under family, life

4 responses to “In yo’ face!!

  1. LMBO – if anybody could make DIBS stand up in a courtroom, it’s you 😉 Law & Order, Sandi-style…
    I bet you also called “Permanent Shotgun.” Poor Cheri

    Like

  2. It’s in the rule book! DIBS is so very important in my world!!!!!

    Like

  3. Cheri

    Did you know that the cookbook is sitting happily in MY kitchen right now? I believe possession is 9/10 of the law and since you’re not really good at fractions or math….it basically means…. IT’S MINE!!!! ♥

    Like

  4. Wha? Where? Must make an alliance with the boys to get the cookbook………wait, did you just hear that?? Must remember to talk silently….

    Like

Leave a Reply

