america? where ya goin’?….

What a Sunday.  What a sermon.  Our pastor was speaking from the book of Habakkuk, you know….over on the left (ok, the Old Testament…which I call the left handed side of the bible).  A teeny little book of only three chapters but it contains one of my most FAVORITE verses in ALL  of the Bible!!!

He (our pastor) asked us if WE were a prophet….what would we say to America?  Eeek!!!   Richard W. DeHaan says of Habakkuk, the prophet,

“Habakkuk was not a self-centered person concerned only with the comfort and safety of himself and his family.  As a true patriot, he was deeply distressed by the moral and spiritual conditions about him.  He loved his nation, and knew it was moving ever closer to the precipice of destruction by continuing to break the laws of God.  Therefore two anguished questions burst forth from his lips:  How long? and Why?”

Wow.  Sound familiar?  We certainly have a lot to complain about regarding our country. But as christians we need to remember that despite the disappointing direction that our nation is taking we need to have FAITH!  God is still in control and He is working His plan to perfection.  There is no better time to be alive right now because WE ARE ALIVE RIGHT NOW!!   AND as christians we need to wipe the SCOWL off our faces and pray for our country and each other.  When we learn to do that we will find ourselves REJOICING!  Our country, or even other people will NOT be changed by a scowl.  It will be changed by prayer.  We can’t keep on condemning the world, condemning our nation, and condemning our neighbor……Jesus didn’t have a scowl!  God didn’t send His Son to condemn the world but to save it! (John 3:17)  So who am I to walk around condemning this country/administration/president?

So…here is my favorite verse of all times…… Habakkuk 3:17-19

“Though the fig tree does not bud

and there are no grapes on the vines,

though the olive crop fails

and the fields produce no food,

though there are no sheep in the pen

and no cattle in the stalls,

yet I will rejoice in the Lord,

I will be joyful in God my Savior.

The Sovereign Lord is my strength;

he makes my feet like the feet of a deer,

he enables me to go on the heights.”

I will not complain.  I will not have a sagging spirit.  I will pray for my nation/neighbor and rejoice in God.  And that, my friends, is what gives me PERFECT PEACE…….even though my youngest child passed at age 15;  even though I don’t know what tomorrow will bring;  even though there are members of my own family that do not have a relationship with God…..YET I WILL REJOICE IN THE LORD.  He is working all things to the praise of HIS glory and the good of His people…….PHEW!!!! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, God speaking, life

One response to “america? where ya goin’?….

  1. This is a wonderful post Sandi. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

