what to do on a rainy day…

Ok, it’s very chilly and rainy today so I thought I would do ANOTHER quilt!  It’s number 2 for me and again…I’m just wingin’ it.

FIRST I get distracted by a sweet hummingbird…Ok, now let’s get to it….

I picked pink and lite green and lite blue for my fabric and then went all the way back to the store just to grab up some chenille….it REALLY makes the quilt.  After cutting a million squares, I laid them out in the pattern that I wanted and once I liked it….I started sewing them together..

Once I get started….it’s hard for me to stop….so.. NO POTTY BREAKS UNTIL THIS IS DONE!!! (ok….that isn’t true)…  Now it’s time for something wonderful…How can ANYONE sew without a homemade rice krispie treat?  Would you feel better if I told you I used Brown Rice Krisps?  No?  Oh well…….

Now…you MUST iron everytime you even LOOK at a quilt square…this is important…

I learned the hard way….

OK!  Once I sewed up all the rows…I then sewed those bad boys together and laid them on top of a wool batting and then attached the whole thing to the back……..now I am just going to do some ties on the front to keep everything secure!  WOO HOO!!!  I’m done!

2 Comments

Filed under ranch life

2 responses to “what to do on a rainy day…

  1. Sheila Belcher Rinehart

    Way to go young lady. I’m Monica’s mom and know something about quilting. Looks like an excellent job to me. I taught myself to knit on my honeymoon 50 years ago, didn’t know I should be an expert to knit a man’s sweater out of canadian wool. So I knited John a sweater. You can do more than you think you can do when you put your mind to it. Congratulations on your quilt.

    Like

    • Thank you!!! I can’t wait to get back to the ranch and do another one. I am thinking that I would like to do a quilt for my granddaughter’s bed. Or perhaps my own king bed!! It is fun and all my sewing “stuff” is there so I just have to be patient and wait to get back to it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

